[pe150]Brasilia Laptop Orchestra
10 yEars aLive
[pe149]Bill Brovold
[pe148]Illusion of Safety & Z'ev
Temporary Presence
[pe145]Pet The Tiger
Gaze Emanations
[pe144]Ashtray Navigations & Anla Courtis
Protozoic Rock Express
[pe143]Alan Sondheim
Future Speed Future
[pe142]Albert / Day / Kreimer
[pe141]Bill Brovold's Stone Soup
Michael Goldberg Variations
[pe140]Michael Gendreau
Polvo Seran, Mas Polvo Enamorado
[pe139]Hélène Breschand & Elliott Sharp
Chansons du Crépuscule
[pe138]Alan Sondheim / Azure Carter / Luke Damrosch
[pe137]Collision Stories
Those Missing Will Complete Us
[pe136]Ghost In The House
Second Sight
[pe135]Henry Kaiser / Alan Licht
Skip to the Solo
[pe134]Peter Aaron / Brian Chase Duo
[pe133]Alan Sondheim / Azure Carter / Luke Damrosch
[pe131]Many Arms & Toshimaru Nakamura
[pe130]Ben Bennett / Jack Wright
[pe128]Music For Hard Times
City of Cardboard
[pe127]Tetuzi Akiyama & Anla Courtis
Naranja Songs
[pe126]Massimo Falascone
Variazioni Mumacs
[pe125]Auris + Gino
Fantasy Remover
[pe123]Azure Carter & Alan Sondheim
Avatar Woman
[pe122]Various Artists
The Unscratchable Itch: A Tribute To Little Fyodor
[pe121]Nels Cline / Elliott Sharp
Open The Door
[pe120]Pretty Monsters
[pe119]Cactus Truck
Brand New For China!
[pe118]Belcher / Bivins Double Quartet
[pe117]Normal Love
Survival Tricks
[pe116]Ron Anderson / Robert L. Pepper / David Tamura / Philippe Petit
Closed Encounters of the 4 Minds
[pe115]Philip Gayle
Babanço Total
[pe114]Dino Felipe
Sorta' Bleu
Radio Friendly
[pe111]Little Fyodor
Peace is Boring
[pe110]Courtis / Yamamoto / Yoshimi
Live at Kanadian
[pe109]Bob Marsh
[pe108]Tartar Lamb
60 Metonymies
[pe107]Shelf Life
[pe106]A Tomato a Day
The Moon is Green
[pe105]D + D
[pe104]The Mighty Vitamins
[pe103]Smut / OVO
Split 7"
[pe102]Bill Horist / Marron
[pe101]Richard Trosper
The Ocean
No Sleep till Babylon
Damn It!!
[pe97]Emily Hay / Marcos Fernandes
We Are
[pe96]The Machine Gun TV
Live In Japan
[pe94]Mike Pride
The Ensemble is an Electronic Device
[pe93]Jorge Castro
[pe92]Yagihashi Tsukasa
[pe91]Eftus Spectun
The Tocks Clicking
[pe89]Amy Denio
[pe88]Eric Cook
[pe87] Onid & Isil
Devotional Hymns for the Women of Anu
[pe85]Che Guevara Memorial Marching (and Stationary) Accordion Band
[pe84]Day / Boardman
One to Seven
[pe83]Knot + Over
Vertonen 9
[pe81]Blue Collar
Lovely Hazel
[pe79]Jesse Krakow
Oceans in the Sun
[pe78]Diaz-Infante / Forsyth / Scherzberg
A Barren Place of Overwhelming Simplicity
[pe76]Khoury / Shearer / Hall
[pe75]Renato Rinaldi
The Time and the Room
[pe74]Masami Kawaguchi
Live in December
[pe72]Watch the Stereo
[pe71]Modern Day Urban Barbarians
The Endless Retreat
[pe70]The Bunny Brains
Holiday Massacre '98
[pe69]Jack Wright & Bob Marsh
Birds in the Hand
[pe68]Free From Disguise
[pe67]Jad Fair & Jason Willett
[pe66]Baker / Baker / Bloor
Terza Rima

available soon

Illusion of Safety & Z'ev - s/t
LP (Chicago)

Side A:
A Strategy of Transformation

Side B:
Smaller Revolutions


All sounds by Daniel Burke & Z'ev

Mastered By Zach Adams
Art By Bradley Kokay
Layout By Arvo Zylo
Graphics Assistant: Don Haugen

Vinyl Edition Co-released By: No Part Of It, Feast Of Hate And Fear, Cipher Productions,
Oxidation, Korm Plastics, Drone Records, Personal Archives, Public Eyesore, Tribe Tapes, Liquid Death Records

(Vital Weekly) So... What do we have here? An LP with on both sides a collaborative work from the sadly departed Z'EV - yes, it's been five years already - and the always inspiring Illusion of Safety, who has more or less stopped actively producing as IoS in 2014 but re-activated again. Sometimes Daniel Burke goes by the name of Soundoferror. These pieces were not released before, and it's great to finally hear them (but better yet, add them to your collection). Both sides are just tipping the twenty-minute mark, which is good. Would it be more, there wouldn't be enough space to give room to all the sounds. The tracks were created in between 2008 and 2012, with the initial sounds coming from Z'ev. So we're talking about parts of arecording of the Z'EV/IoS show in Chicago 2007. Daniel Burke worked from those and added modular layers, field recordings and very probably - listening to the sounds - treatments of some sounds by of Z'EV, after which the music was returned to Z'ev for final treatment. While best known as a percussion player, Z'EV also worked with computer manipulation of sound. The first side is titled "A Strategy of Transformation" and is, without doubt, the loudest of the two, even though "loud" is not precisely describing the atmosphere. The sound is at moments erratic, probably because of the rhythmic approach of the tools and setup from Z'EV, yet IoS manages to mould the sounds into a more coherent soundscape with his additions. The percussive basics, however, never really leave the composition. And why I emphasized the percussive 'ethics' of side A becomes clear on the reverse side. "Smaller Revolutions" is more ambient in its approach. Think bows or other (non-percussive) treatments of the metal sources. And here, the additional layers by IoS generate a beautiful soundscape in its full form. Excellent dynamics are obtained by keeping open spaces in the frequency spectrum and the volume. This might be my favourite of the two sides because of those dynamics. This vinyl was co-released by various people/labels to ensure it would happen. Thankfully, it did, even when the production took two years to complete, and I want to thank everybody involved for making this happen. - Bauke van der Wal
© 2020 Public Eyesore Records. All Rights Reserved.